WORLD OF TEXT

Translation Corner – Du bist gefragt!

Posted on: 2. Juni 2009

Über die Wochen hin ist mir nun eines aufgefallen – Ich habe mich zwar mit Sprache beschäftigt, aber viel zu wenig mit unserem eigentlichen Hauptgebiet, Übersetzung. Daher mal ein Ausruf an alle WORLD OF TEXT Leser – schreibt mir eure Übersetzungsprobleme (in Deutsch-Englisch bzw. Englisch-Deutsch), Zwickmühlen oder sonstige Fragen in die Kommentare, und ich werde dann in meinem nächsten Artikel soweit alles im Detail erklären und übersetzen. Sollte niemand etwas kommentieren, muss ich mir selber Begriffe raussuchen, die dann vielleicht weniger interessant sind😉. Von daher, her mit euren Ideen!

-Moritz

Schlagwörter: ,

2 Antworten to "Translation Corner – Du bist gefragt!"

Hello!
I stumbled upon your blog and was amazed to see that you had a solution to my problems.
My boyfriend said this to me the other day but I am not sure what it means:
Bück dich befehl ich dir
wende dein Antlitz ab von mir
dein Gesicht ist mir egal
Bück dich.

Many Thanks
Caroline🙂

Hello Caroline!

Your boyfriend is very naughty, and apparently likes Ramstein. As far as I remember, those are the lyrics to one of their songs, and the translation would be as follows:

bend over, I command you!
turn your head away from me
I don’t care about your face
bend over

Of course, this could be a mere prank to get me to translate a rather dirty lyric, but on the off-chance you really didn’t know what it meant (although you knew to use umlaute ;)), I did it anyway. Excuse me if I don’t write a blog article about it, since it is neither very hard to translate (a fact many Ramstein lyrics share – their vocabulary isn’t very hard), nor is it all that appropriate (not that I ever shied away from that).

-Moritz

Schreibe einen Kommentar

