WORLD OF TEXT

My internship

Posted on: 20. März 2013

Hallo. Hello. Hola. Salut everyone. The time has come to say goodbye. It’s already my last week at the translation firm WORLD TEXT. I started my internship on January 07. Three months have passed so fast!

So, let me tell you a bit about my experience.

I have to say, it was one of the best internships – and I’ve done a lot of those.

My tasks:

I sometimes had to fit the cliché and make coffee😛 At 9.30 every morning I had to go to the post office and to the bank.

Most of the time I was proofreading various texts, once even an entire user’s manual.

When I found something “suspicious”, I was allowed to add a comment in the document and send it back to the translator, who then answered my question/corrected the corresponding part of the translation. This was the task I liked most! I deepened my knowledge of languages; it was interesting to learn how translators – native speakers – expressed certain phrases and which word they used for a certain term. Sometimes I added comments that didn’t necessarily relate to the text, I just wanted to know things like: “Could you also use that word instead of this word?” or “I’d write the place first, which possibility is more common?” I enjoyed discussing with the translators.

Proofreading was also a gain for my general knowledge. The texts I read were so diverse – from contracts and deeds to brochures about enterprises in the meat industry to articles about marketing and advertising.

Sometimes I had to do “blind proofreading”, i. e. proofreading a text in a language I don’t know and checking it for mistakes in numbers etc. This showed me once again how many different languages there are in the world. I often found similarities in certain languages, too.

Of course I was allowed to translate/prepare some texts myself🙂

I also did internet research and updated the terminology databases.

AND I posted various articles here on the WORLD TEXT blog.

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog entries!

I don’t know when the next intern will follow and if/how much they’ll post on here – but I’ll definitely stay tuned – and you should, too!!!😛

If you’re interested in a WORLD TEXT internship yourself, don’t hesitate to contact them, they’ve had interns from all over the world: info@worldtext.com

Don’t forget to visit the website: www.worldtext.com

Yup, that was it.

Tschüss! Bye-bye! Adiós! Salut!

1 Response to "My internship"

Glad to hear you had a good experience there. Good luck in the future!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

